Monday Links

On Twitter I share links each day to various stuff that I think is great and/or worth people’s time. But not everyone that comes here is on Twitter, so I gather up the best of those links each Monday and post them here so everyone can get in on the fun. If you’ve missed any of the past Monday links (or just want to waste some time), check the archive of posts here. Enjoy.

First things first: NPR is streaming the new albums from Of Monsters and Men (I’ve been meaning to feature them here for a long while, so maybe I should do that…) and M.Ward. Also, The Lumineers will let you stream their new album in exchange for telling people on Facebook or Twitter.

The Local Strangers launched a Kickstarter campaign last week to fund the making of their first album. Having heard early versions of some of the songs when they came through here late last year I can tell you that this is an album you really, really want made. Also, the prizes are pretty fantastic (I went for the personalized mixes, but you really can’t go wrong with anything offered). Check out one of those aforementioned new tunes, ‘Uptown,’ that will hopefully be on the album.

Daytrotter posted some unbelievably strong sessions last week, my two favorites being those of Nathaniel Rateliff and Nick Waterhouse. Do not miss either of them.

IFC premiered video of a brand new Horse Feathers song called ‘Where I’ll Be.’ It’s, well, exactly what you would expect from them, which is to say excellent. Their new album, Cynic’s New Year, comes out April 17th. Can’t wait.

Daughter dropped by KEXP a few weeks ago and played a breathtaking 4 song set, which you can stream right here. Yet another band I can’t wait to hear a full length from.

The 78 Project films bands ‘with just one microphone, one authentic 1930′s PRESTO direct-to-disc recorder, and one blank lacquer disk.’ The below video of Vandaveer playing ‘Banks of the Ohio’ is proof of just how incredible this idea is.

If you (like me) have ever wondered why indie artists aren’t on the radio but are in seemingly most every TV commercial nowadays, this article pretty well explains it. Spoiler alert: it’s depressing.

I’m going to try and be better about updating the ‘What I’m Listening To‘ playlist on Spotify going forward- I’ve been lazy. I went ahead and updated it last week with some new tunes I’m digging, so go ahead take a listen if you’re so inclined. Oh, and join in the fun of the collaborative playlist for spring- spring across the land– that was started up last week. The additions so far have been seriously awesome and I’d love for you to add what you think the seasons sounds like too.

Megan over at Music vs. Misery put together a pretty stellar collection of Bruce Springsteen covers from the likes of The National, The Avett Brothers, The Hold Stead and Josh Ritter (just to name a few) and posted it up on 8tracks. Give it a listen below or click here to listen on the 8tracks site.

I’ll end this weeks links with a superb video of Elk & Boar playing ‘Ten Steps From Free.’ There are worse ways to start a week than with some bluesy rock and roll. Enjoy.

This entry was posted in Monday Links, Stuff on other sites. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment