Monday Links

On Twitter I share links each day to various stuff that I think is great and/or worth people’s time. But not everyone that comes here is on Twitter, so I gather up the best of those links each Monday and post them here so everyone can get in on the fun. Enjoy.

I think it’s safe to say that (easily) the best video to surface so far this year is the below one of Mavis Staples, Wilco and Nick Lowe rehearsing The Band’s ‘The Weight’ backstage last month here in Chicago. Its just…completely absurd and amazing. I have watched it a socially inappropriate number of times already.

NPR has the Kathleen Edwards’ new album Voyageur up for streaming ahead of its release next week. You want to hear this album, believe me.

My buddy Natalie over at It’s Too Sunny Out Here put together another one of her fantastic monthly mixes. Head on over and download it- you’re sure to find all sorts of fantastic new stuff you’ve never heard (that Ha Ha Tonka track is a gem).

When writing about Tyler Lyle yesterday I missed the chance to plug his new Kickstarter campaign, which is more than worthwhile (and which I totally should have plugged). Lyle is trying to raise funds to press the altogether fantastic The Golden Age & The Silver Girl to vinyl, and you can both help and get one of those first pressings (along with some other fantastic rewards/gifts). Head on over and help the guy out.

Things that are always awesome to stumble upon: really well done video of a young, soulful crooner you hadn’t yet listened to. That’s what happened last week when I happened upon two videos of Liam Bailey playing some songs for the website All Saints. I think you’re gonna like these.


The Wooden Sky has a brand new album coming out February 28th titled Every Child a Daughter, Every Moon a Sun and this last week they gave us the first taste of what’s to come when they released the song ‘Child of the Valley’ for all to hear. I think we’re in for another fantastic album from a young band on the brink of breaking out.

I love covers. I also love the voices of James Vincent McMorrow and Lisa Hannigan. So I absolutely can’t get enough of their delicate take on Dave Rawlings’ ‘Bells of Harlem.’

Speaking of foreign singers with stunning voices, this black and white video of Jonas David (and a few friends) playing his song ‘Shield’ went on repeat for a few days last week. Just superb stuff.

I haven’t yet written here about Seattle’s Gold Leaves, which is a shame because I found their album The Ornament fantastically enjoyable last year. Lead singer/songwriter Grant Olsen sat down with Seismic-Sound last week and did a fascinating dissection of their song ‘Cruel/Kind.’ I’ll never get tired of hearing the stories behind great tunes.

Every other week Aquarium Drunkard (one of the best blogs in the business) releases a new Clifton’s Corner, a column from DJ Clifton Weaver dedicated to old and new R&B, soul, funk, blues, etc. music from off the beaten path. This last week found volume 8 of the series, Blues Heaven Pt. 1, posted and man oh man is it full of wonderfulness. Be sure to go on over and check it out.

Without a doubt the band I’m most excited to finally hear a full length from is Alabama Shakes. Since it’s not coming out until April (or so I heard) I’ve been scouring the internets looking for all those fantastic songs I heard when I saw them play here in Chicago last month. Turns out there’s a few really great shows on archive.org, the best sounding being this one right –> here. This band is just too damn good.

Daughter is another young band I’m looking forward to hearing a full length from, hopefully sometime later this year? One can hope. This video of the group playing ‘Youth’ live from St. Giles in the Fields Church in London is pretty magnificent and makes me that much more impatient.

Lastly…The Gundersen Family. Harmonizing beautifully. In a cathedral. Just breathtaking. I should have listened to everyone saying I needed to get into them before, but better late than never, right? Whoa. Enjoy.

This entry was posted in Monday Links, Stuff on other sites. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Monday Links

  1. Pingback: YouTube Thursday: Noah & Abby Gundersen cover CSNY, Feist, and Dylan with family & friends, and steal my heart — Cover Lay Down

Leave a comment