Last Fall- a mix

I’m currently working on the mix for this fall, which hopefully will be done in the next week or two (cause, you know, fall doesn’t start for a few weeks). While I continue to rummage through the tunes I have in hopes of finding the right mix I thought I’d upload the mix I made last fall for my friends. I’ve put it on a few times over the last week and it still sounds pretty perfect. Enjoy.


(click the image to go to the mix)

1. Summer’s Life- The Shaky Hands. Sort of like a last breath of summer.
2. Shroud- Nathanial Rateliff and The Wheel. I played this song probably a socially unacceptable number of times last fall. It still sounds perfect.
3. The Wild Hunt- The Tallest Man on Earth. You cannot go wrong with The Tallest Man on Earth, no matter the season.
4. Running Wild- Matt Pond PA. There’s something Matt Pond PA’s sound that feels made for autumn.
5. So Glad I’m Coming Home- Langhorne Slim. I feel like fall is that time of year when we all try our hardest to make it ‘home.’
6. Barn Song- Chris Pureka. I always associate barns with fall. I’m from Iowa, so I have no idea why.
7. Burning Stars- Mimicking Birds. Another perfect song that sounds great on a brisk morning.
8. Sweetest In The Morning- Jill Andrews. Andrews’ smokey voice draws me in each time.
9. The Longest Day- Megafaun. As I said the other day on Twitter, this is an absolutely exquisite version of this great song.
10. The Diamond Church Street Choir- The Gaslight Anthem. Every season needs handclaps.
11. Change of Time- Josh Ritter. I think there’s no bigger sense mentally of change between seasons than the one from summer to fall.
12. All the Boys- The Romany Rye. Something about this song feels like fall- I still haven’t figured it out.
13. Who Knows Who Cares- Local Natives. Those soaring harmonies are so. damn. good.
14. Orange Yellow- The Spires. I used to put this on during my drive home from work during the fall and just hit repeat over and over.
15. Heart & Arrow- Matt Duncan. The sparseness of everything sounds pretty great on those mornings after a deep frost when you’re under about 35 blankets and watching movies.
16. Belly of June- Horse Feathers. I know it references June in the title, but it screams fall to me.
17. Bullet- Scarlett Johansson and Steel Train. I know it seems silly, but just go with it. It’s fun.
18. The Mightiest of Guns- AA Bondy. That worn voice of AA Bondy slays me every time.
19. Harvest Moon- Ben Gibbard. I couldn’t make a fall mix and not have this on there, right?
20. My Heart is Calling/Following- Cataldo. A joyous way to close it out.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment