my favorite albums and songs of 2016 (so far)

Juuuuuuust about to the mid-point of 2016, which means it’s time to talk about our favorite stuff that’s come out so far this year. I feel like this has been about as strong a year as we could have hoped for, with a bunch of hyped-up young acts delivering and a whole lot of highly anticipated albums not letting us down. Hell, last year I could barely tell you 5 albums that really did it for me and just in the first half of this year I could easily recommend 23 albums that are worth your money. I don’t care that 23 isn’t a round number. Alright, enough words. Here’s what’s spoken to me the most during the first half of 2016.

Songs
(click here to listen/subscribe on Spotify)

Albums
(in no particular order, really, though Chance the Rapper made my favorite album, and Pinegrove and The Hotelier round out my top 3. Ongoing Spotify playlist of my favorite albums can be found right here.)

Chance the Rapper- Coloring Book

Pinegrove- Cardinal

The Hotelier- Goodness

Lucy Dacus- No Burden

Donovan Woods- Hard Settled, Ain’t Troubled

Sturgill Simpson- A Sailor’s Guide To Earth

Gregory Alan Isakov with the Colorado Symphony- Gregory Alan Isakov with the Colorado Symphony

Fort Frances- Alio

Fruit Bats- Absolute Loser

Beyonce- Lemonade

Other records that are great and you should hear:
Daughter – Not to Disappear
Aidan Knight – Each Other
Wet – Don’t You
Mothers – When You Walk A Long Distance You Are Tired
Lapsley – Long Way Home
Laura Gibson – Empire Builder
Anderson .Paak – Malibu
Sam Beam & Jesca Hoop – Love Letter for Fire
Kevin Morby – Singing Saw
Mutual Benefit – Skip A Sinking Stone
Whitney – Light Upon the Lake
Caveman – Otero War
Birger Olsen – The Lights Just Buzz

This entry was posted in my favorite stuff of 2016. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to my favorite albums and songs of 2016 (so far)

  1. Anton says:

    Bring back Francis and the Lights! Well done, Chance the Rapper. Not sure about this myself, but it shows a lot about how you have grown Adam, embracing a lot of new, exciting music. Personally Gregory Alan Isakov & the Orchestra take it hands down for the whole damn year, as I don’t believe anyone else will come that close to perfection. My review of it to follow…

  2. lizsamdog says:

    thanks Adam another special list of recordings , all albums Ive enjoyed so far ……I would include PINEGROVE, CAR SEAT HEADREST and the special album recently BAND OF HORSES their best album yet

Leave a Reply

