catching up

Here’s what I’ve been listening to as winter tries to win.

‘Brownlow’-Låpsley
This is very likely the song that I’ve listened to the most times so far in 2015. Absolutely perfect, this one.

‘Gimme All Your Love’- Alabama Shakes
This new, more aggressive sound from the Shakes? I’m a big fan of it. Goodness.

‘Depreston’- Courtney Barnett
A bit meandering and a lot wordy and full of sharp observations and wit, this new one from Courtney Barnett is tremendously wonderful. Absolutely cannot wait for this record.

‘The Measure’- Joe Pug
Joe Pug’s new album comes out next week. I haven’t heard it yet, but I’m going to go out on a big limb and say it’s very likely going to be heartbreakingly beautiful and full of great songwriting.

‘Ruckers Hill’- Husky
Those harmonies throughout this one? That’s about as good as it gets, you guys.

‘Make It Holy’- The Staves
Yeah, so this forthcoming album from The Staves seems like it’s going to be a haymaker to the feelings. I can’t wait.

‘Quarterback’- Kopecky
Did I expect Sleigh Bells-esque guitars from the Kopecky’s? No, no I did not. But good lord is this a catchy jam.

‘Our Eyes’- Lucy Rose
Also catchy (and very lovely): this new one from Lucy Rose. This will be in heavy rotation in summer, I think (and also while I dream about summer).

‘Our Love Is Over Now’- Ski Lodge
This is what this portion of winter sounds like, I think, all cold and beautiful and like a punch in the gut.

This entry was posted in catching up. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

