‘Family and Genus’ / ‘House of Winston’- Shakey Graves

Was I maybe a little worried that, having fanboyed out like an out-of-control teenager for the last 6 months to a year and built up some ridiculous expectations, I was going to be very let down/look very silly when this Shakey Graves album finally came out? YEAH I WAS MAYBE A LITTLE BIT. But then it came out and… you guys, it’s really damn good and now I feel vindicated in being super annoying about him for so long (and as such, this has been running through my brain ever since- and now it will take over your brain, too).

So, what makes And The War Came such a success? Alejandro Rose-Garcia, basically. This album shows off everything that makes him such a captivating character- there’s the infectious energy in songs like ‘Dearly Departed,’ the dusty picking in tunes like ‘House of Winston,’ and the willingness to get a little out there and weird (while always staying true to his sound), as in ‘Family and Genus.’ It is, I think, the well-produced, completely electric album that his fans had hoped for, one that will not only please them but also, I think, open him up to a massive new audience.

Enjoy.

This entry was posted in Shakey Graves. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ‘Family and Genus’ / ‘House of Winston’- Shakey Graves

  1. Graham says:

    Wow…..that’s the word that’s springs to mind after listening to those two tracks from Shakey’s album. Certainly not like anything in the normal folk genre that is growing by the day it seems. This guy is unique, in much the same way that M Ward was a few years ago……unique and awesome ! Thanks so much for posting his stuff on your site.

    Graham
    Mooroolbark, Australia

  2. Logan says:

    I agree. I too have been in anticipation of what I fully expected would be one of the best albums of the year. Musically it wasn’t exactly what I expected, but I’m far from disappointed. It’s a diverse and beautiful album with depth that can not be fully captured in the first few listens. It will be on my “best of” list for 2014. Thanks for all the focus and videos as well as a damn fine blog overall.

Leave a Reply

