Monday Links

On Twitter (and Facebook) I share links each day to various stuff that I think is great and/or worth people’s time. But not everyone that comes here is on Twitter or Facebook, so I gather up the best of those links each Monday and post them here so everyone can get in on the fun. If you’ve missed any of the past Monday Links (or just want to waste some time), check the archive of posts here.

GO STREAM THE NEW ALBUM FROM TYPHOON RIGHT NOW. Sorry, all caps was necessary- it is that freaking good. (You can/should pre-order it right here.)

Basia Bulat announced her new album, Tall Tall Shadow (due out October 1st), the other week. Below is the altogether lovely title track from it. Color me excited.

Take a listen to Typhoon covering Frank Ocean below. No, I’m not joking. Yes, it is really good. Yes, it feels weird to say that. No, I don’t care.

Having grown up watching SportsCenter for hours on end each morning, this Deadspin piece is extremely interesting. And extremely depressing. Probably equal parts of each.

I could talk about crowd etiquette for days (I rambled a bunch a few years back about it in this piece), so this NPR article about recording on cellphones at shows was right up my alley.

File the below video under ‘Things That Are Fun And Should Make You Happy.’

Haim released a new single, ‘The Wire,’ last week. I, like seemingly everyone else on the internet, think it is superb. Their debut album is due out 9/30. Also, I saw them the other night here in Chicago playing an aftershow and holy crap, kids- you need to see that band of siblings ASAP. It’s a party. Anyhow, take a listen:

NPR takes an incredibly interesting look at how the Billboard Hot 100 came to define what a hit is.

We’ve talked about PHOX a good deal around here already, but SERIOUSLY, guys and gals, how freaking lovely is this?

Halfway House posted their superb session featuring Small Houses and Sean Hoots (of Hoots & Hellmouth), which you can grab for free right here. The solo song from Hoots, ‘Keep Me In It,’ has been on repeat the last few days. Real good stuff. Watch/listen (and then go download the whole session):

Not a fan of EDM, but this piece on its insane, corporate-fueled growth (and the likely bubble its created) was fascinating.

One Tuesday each month my buddies Tyler and Matt over at Vinyl Me, Please throw a listening party where everyone gets together, listens to that month’s record club pick, eats cake balls, drinks beer and dorks out about music. They are one of my favorite nights each month. This is what they look like.

I don’t know that I’ll write anything official about my trip out to Timber, but I wanted to share this video of Noah Gundersen playing ‘Cigarettes’ late on the last night of the festival. In the middle of a set that was as spellbinding as any I’ve ever seen, this song absolutely crushed me. Not sure I have the proper words to describe how much I love this song, or how much I loved sitting there on a blanket under those tall trees, surrounded by people I care so much about, as it filled up the crisp, electric, nearly-midnight air. Enjoy.

This entry was posted in Monday Links. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Monday Links

  1. Lisa says:

    I’m a sucker for patio lights and brick walls as it is but add music geekery AND cake balls and it’s officially killing me. I almost can’t handle that video and fully expect to tear up a bit at the next pint of Lagunitas I have (or, at the very least, sigh deeply). Thanks for that!

Leave a Reply

