a quick note…

As I unpacked my bags and such earlier this week from my trip out West I decided that I needed to tell you something, and that something is this: I got divorced in March of this year. I don’t know why it struck me that I needed to tell you, but it just felt right. I’ve kept it to myself and off of the blog for any number of reasons, but as I thought about things more and more I realized that it was time to share. The last two weeks have been really freeing, blog-wise; it’s been great to have the friends I’ve been lucky enough to make through this blogging thing take over my site and constantly amaze me (and, hopefully, you) with what they were willing to put together and share. But I also realized about a week ago that I missed the blog and the little community that’s sprouted up around/through it, missed the daily opportunity to post something I whole-heartedly believe in for those who stopped by this corner of the internet and, most importantly, missed the daily routine and release of posting/sharing. See, this blog has been the one constant in my life through the last year-plus of hard times and heartache, through those months and months when I was devastated and, eventually, the ones when the dark clouds started to part and I started to pick myself up and build a new life. It’s been a struggle- divorce is everything people say it is (sad, confusing, isolating, depressing, embarrassing, draining, etc.), even the ‘amicable’ ones- but this blog has been one of the best ways for me to cope with it, to stay above-water, have a purpose and make connections with the people that have, in the end, helped get me through it all.

It’s all been here on the blog- every day of it, from start to finish, but you didn’t know (though I had a friend figure it out before I actually told them, just based on the songs) (also: sorry about that winter mix last year- that was brutal). But now you know. And now I can maybe make it a little more personal around here again- things won’t be going full-bore emo or anything, but I’ll try to start to talk about real reasons for connections to songs instead of just saying ‘Hey, this is real good,’ which has sort of become my standard out (to be clear: I do think all those songs that I have essentially posted only ‘Hey, this is real good’ with are, in fact, real good, BUT there’s probably more to it than that, so I’ll start to make an effort to let on a little more). And, finally, I can now let you know how I really feel about the new Josh Ritter album, the one that came along at exactly the right moment and got me through the real tough times. See, I did write about it, just not with my name attached for all to see, because I wasn’t ready. Now I am, and you can read the words I wrote about an album that’s meant the world to me right here.

So, that’s what’s been happening around here. Thanks for sticking it out with me- it means more than you know.

This entry was posted in a note. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to a quick note…

  1. Owen says:

    Thanks for sharing man. Putting yourself out there like that is brave. Hopefully the music and the community have helped pull you through.

  2. Billsville says:

    Thanks for opening up, courage in all things. This song was mine when that bitter rift opened Bob Dylan “You’re A Big Girl Now” https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zp6RPdS9eZ0

  3. Adrian says:

    I remember that thing you wrote about the Josh Ritter album at F/F–I think I even commented on the post. Thanks for sharing there and here.

    And it seems that posting here means that you’re getting through the worst of it, and I’m thankful for that. Don’t be afraid to reach out if you need anything.

  4. First time commenter, but had to leave you a note and say “good for you” for getting that out in the open. I agree with another commenter, that’s got to be a sign of healing. Plus I know from experience, it’s so exhausting and stifling to keep pieces of yourself hidden. Thank god for music.

    I’m thinking “I Have a Good Day Every Now and Then” by Paul Thorn…

    Wishing you many good days and more good songs…. Christy

  5. adelespins says:

    Thanks for sharing, Adam. A heartfelt post, from an always thoughtful blog.

    If I may, I’d like to share my sad-times-waiting-for-happy song “Head Full of Doubt/Road Full of Promise.”

  6. raphael says:

    i have been reading your blog almost daily for a long time now and i figured this would be a good time to come out of the lurking.
    i dont know if the traffic is actually much higher, i just wanted to assure you that while there might not be many comments at times, there are a lot of people thoroughly enjoying the music you spread and i want to thank you for all the wonderful music i would’ve probably never discovered if it wasn’t for you.
    so, joy to you all!

  7. overyonder says:

    echoing everyone else’s sentiments – thanks for what you do and doing it bravely. I love the discoveries I’ve made through your blog, spotify, and twitter presences.

    carry on, man. and I’ll follow Josh and Raphael and say ‘joy to us all’ as well. 🙂

  8. E says:

    Long-time reader, first time poster. I, too, have been going through a divorce. For the last five months it’s been really tough to hold it all together. I’ve come to this site nearly everyday and used the music you share to maintain. I don’t know where you are in the process, but the good news is that it absolutely gets better. I hope you find peace. And keep up the music.

  9. Laura Engel says:

    Thank you for sharing this personal story, Adam.

    ‘Evelyn’ by Andrew Duhon is making me incredibly happy today, I’m sure it’ll do the same for you!

  10. Mary says:

    Going to echo everyone else – it is a brave thing to put something so personal out there like this. It’s also a beautiful thing. Hopefully letting it out helps you as you move on. Certainly the music will.

  11. melissa says:

    Just catching up on your blog after being away a while. I’m another first time commenter to join in the chorus of thank yous. Thank you for this blog and all the music you share. And thank you for putting yourself out there. It makes the incredible music that you introduce us to even more touching and meaningful. I found your blog earlier this year as I was going through a painful break-up of my own, and I cannot tell you how much it has helped me through some of the lows. So may this community that you have found and help to build continue to thrive and provide healing for us all.

Leave a Reply

