‘Don’t Hate Me’/’Stay Gold, Ponyboy’- The Get Up Kids

The last few summers I’ve kicked around the idea of doing a week of emo/pop-punk/whathaveyou songs & albums from my high school years (the ones after I grew out of Dave Matthews Band). This year, it’s happening…in fact, it’s happening this week. First up: The Get Up Kids.

The Get Up KidsFour Minute Mile was the gateway album for me, the one that lead me away from Dave Matthews Band fandom and down the path towards loving pop-punk and emo and screamo and any other genre name they made up for the music was part of Warped Tour each summer. All jangly guitars, huge dynamic shifts and polite yells, Four Minute Mile didn’t sound much like anything I was listening to at that point (and, really, doesn’t sound all that much like the stuff that I ended up loving so much after it). The album is rough around the edges, containing wrong notes here and there and nothing even remotely close to what someone might consider ‘studio magic,’ but that’s why I love it- any tinkering or cleaning up of the sound would have zapped it of the raw, urgent anxiousness that makes the entire thing go. It’s the first non-mainstream album I ever loved, and one that I still return to every now and again only to find it still sounds as good as I remember.

Below are two of my favorite songs from the album, ‘Don’t Hate Me’ and ‘Stay Gold, Ponyboy.’ Enjoy.

This entry was posted in The Get Up Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ‘Don’t Hate Me’/’Stay Gold, Ponyboy’- The Get Up Kids

  1. KD says:

    re: the one that lead me away from Dave Matthews Band fandom
    THANK GOD

    • Adam says:

      At that point DMB wasn’t quite the monstrosity they are now. Also, I was like 16, and no one makes good decisions when they are 16.

Leave a Reply

