‘Artists as Fans’- Galen Disston (of Pickwick)

Song: ‘Pushkin’ by Palace Brothers

God is the answer
God is the answer
God is the answer
God lies within

And you can’t say
that I didn’t learn from you
And you can’t say
that I didn’t learn from you
And you can’t say
that I didn’t learn from you
And you can’t say
that I didn’t learn from you

God is the answer
God is the answer
God is the answer
God lies within

And I will not
have a good time
But leave me just the same
the statue marks the place here
where Pushkin stook his claim

God is the answer
God is the answer
God is the answer
God lies within

And I guess that
she couldn’t tell me
Because she found it
very frightening
and though a lead slug
would have felled me
Pushkin
rides the lightning

I’m not claiming to be an expert on Russian literature, geography or metaphysics, but this is one of three Will Oldham songs I have in my head. All day–every day. I see a connection between Alexander Pushkin’s crippling arrogance and Oldham subverting a higher power in the lyrics. But then again, that was my favorite part of studying literature–making something out of nothing.

–  Galen Disston

Galen Disston is the lead singer of Pickwick, a six-piece band out of Seattle that just released their tremendous debut album, Can’t Talk Medicineyesterday. The band is currently in Austin as part of SXSW and will be touring seemingly everywhere afterwards (including a stop here in Chicago on April 19th)- they put on a show you absolutely need to see. As I’ve said many times, this is a band on the verge of big, big things

‘Artists as Fans’ is an ongoing series that features artists writing about songs that they personally love and connect with. You can find previous entries in the series here

This entry was posted in Artists as Fans, Pickwick. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

