Monday Links

On Twitter I share links each day to various stuff that I think is great and/or worth people’s time. But not everyone that comes here is on Twitter, so I gather up the best of those links each Monday and post them here so everyone can get in on the fun. If you’ve missed any of the past Monday links (or just want to waste some time), check the archive of posts here.

Pitchfork is now streaming the magnificent new album from Night Beds. Go listen ASAP. NPR is now streaming new albums from Jim James and Thao & The Get Down Stay Down. ALSO: Stream the new albums from Frightened Rabbit and Matt Pond PA, as well as releases coming out this week from Local Natives, ON AN ON, Frontier Ruckus and Wake Owl. Whew.

Kevin Long is an artist whose music I’ve featured here before. What caught my eye this last week, though, was his writing. ‘You’ve Got To Have A Good Story‘ is one of the most honest pieces I’ve read in a good long time.

Megan over at Music vs. Misery posted a new mix of stuff she’s been listening to lately. It’s full of real, real good stuff. Go download it ASAP.

I couldn’t love this Jill Krasny piece on discovering music at the grocery store any more if I tried. I think you’ll feel the same.

Paste released a little sampler of recordings from the sessions they’ve shot at recent festivals and put it on Noisetrade for you to download. You should do that (all it costs is your email address).

La Blogotheque released the second part of their Take Away Show with The Lumineers last week and it is, as one would expect, terrific. Here they are playing ‘Stubborn Love’ on a rooftop in San Francisco. Watch the other video from the session here.

Never really been a fan of Pandora. Finding out they are trying to take away royalties from artists doesn’t make me want to give them another chance.

Macklemore’s ‘Thrift Shop’ is currently the #1 single in America, which is insane. Here’s the story of the man who sings the insanely catchy hook.

It’d cold. This video of Michael Kiwanuka playing ‘Rest’ in a room beneath a bunch of hay bales at Bonnaroo makes me feel warm. Enjoy.

This entry was posted in Monday Links. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Monday Links

  1. Folk Hive says:

    I keep trying to remind myself that The Lumineers are not just indie darlings anymore and that I now have to share them with the rest of the world (including my young nieces who are informed about music solely from the radio) and then I see things like that video and I’m reminded that, at heart, they’re still indie. They’re still ours. I know it’s not about ownership (that’s the wrong spirit) but if that video doesn’t beautifully capture the soul of the indie fans love of music, then I don’t know what possibly could.

Leave a Reply

