My Favorite Daytrotter Recordings of (the second half of) 2012

If you’ve hung around here for any amount of time (and if you haven’t, welcome!) you know that I love Daytrotter. Sure, the fact it’s based just across the river from where I grew up is part of the charm, but mostly it’s because it posts unbelievable, unique sessions with artists I love, and introduces me to artists I soon will, on a daily basis. Below (in no particular order) are 31 of my favorite songs from sessions posted in the second half of 2012 (listen to the first half mix here)- you’ll recognize some of them from around here, others will be brand new…all are wonderful.

If you aren’t yet a member, take a listen to what you’re missing out on below and then head over to Daytrotter and grab an annual membership for yourself (it’s $2  a month… you can afford that, promise). Enjoy.


(listen via the embedded player or click here to listen on 8tracks)

1. ‘Heartstring Freestyle’- Macklemore
2. ‘Everything West Of Home’- River City Extension
3. ‘It All Comes Right’- Drew Grow and The Pastors’ Wives
4. ‘I Try’- The Staves
5. ‘In The Cool Of The Day’- Daniel Martin Moore
6. ‘Ocean Open Wide’- Hoots & Hellmouth
7. ‘Laura’- PHOX
8. ‘I Was Young When I Left Home’ (Bob Dylan cover)- Mumford & Sons and Friends
9. ‘Unaware’- Allen Stone
10. ‘Elephant Head’- Cold Specks
11. ‘I Can’t Wait’- Star & Micey
12. ‘In My Bed’- The Orwells
13. ‘Lasan’- Michael Kiwanuka
14. ‘Malibu Rum’- The Wooden Sky
15. ‘Something, Somewhere, Sometime’- Ben Sollee
16. ‘The MTN Song’- Rayland Baxter
17. ‘Time To Run’- Lord Huron
18. ‘Dark’- Luke Sital-Singh
19. ‘Fish’- Wye Oak
20. ‘Never Again’- Bahamas
21. ‘Oak Tree’- Desert Noises
22. ‘Switzerland’- The Last Bison
23. ‘The Trail Remains Unseen’- Paul Thomas Saunders
24. ‘This Year’- The Mountain Goats
25. ‘Waltz’- Rachel Sermanni
26. ‘Welcome’- Hey Rosetta!
27. ‘Widower’s Heart’- Trampled By Turtles
28. ‘Autumn Tree’- Milo Greene
29. ‘History’s Door’- Husky
30. ‘Keeping Up’- JBM
31. ‘New York’- Blind Pilot

This entry was posted in Mix, My Favorite Stuff of 2012. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

