Monday Links

On Twitter I share links each day to various stuff that I think is great and/or worth people’s time. But not everyone that comes here is on Twitter, so I gather up the best of those links each Monday and post them here so everyone can get in on the fun. If you’ve missed any of the past Monday links (or just want to waste some time), check the archive of posts here. Enjoy.

NPR is streaming the new album from Sera Cahoone, which is absolutely lovely. Spinner is streaming albums from The Lighthouse and The Whaler and Big Scary, among others. Edit: You can now stream the new EP from Frightened Rabbit. Hell yes.

La Blogotheque released their Take Away Show with Cold Specks last week and it is, not surprisingly, breathtaking. Below is the video for ‘Elephant Head’ and ‘Heavy Hands,’ but make sure to head over to La Blogotheque to see the video for ‘Blank Maps.’

This piece from Ethan Kaplan on music revenue, buying habits and access was easily the most interesting and depressing (in a good, thought-provoking way) thing I read all last week.

My favorite song from The Avett Brothers new record is ‘A Father’s First Spring.’ Here’s a lovely video of the brothers playing it along coast.

The Tallest Man on Earth stopped by KEXP recently to play a little set for listeners during which he played a stunning rendition of David Bazan’s ‘Lost My Shape.’ Take a listen.

‘Monster Ballads’ is one of my favorite songs by Josh Ritter, which means this video of him playing it in a room full of taxidermied animals is obviously something I love.

Jimmy Fallon: still the best.

This has nothing to do with music, but I love the show Parks & Rec and thus I love this Tom Haverfoods site with all my heart.

I finally got around to updating the ‘What I’m Listening To‘ playlist on Spotify. Take a listen if you’d like. Hopefully I’ll be better about keeping it up to date going forward.

Jonathan Russell from The Head and The Heart played a gorgeous new song titled ‘Alabama/Mississippi’ as part of a recent Halfway House Session. Can’t wait for The Head and The Heart to get back in the studio. Enjoy.

This entry was posted in Monday Links. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

