Monday Links

On Twitter I share links each day to various stuff that I think is great and/or worth people’s time. But not everyone that comes here is on Twitter, so I figured it makes sense to gather up the best of those links each Monday and post them here so that everyone can get in on the fun. Enjoy.

First, just wanted to let you know that this will be the last week to grab the zip file of my fall2011 mix. Click on the link right –> here <– to download the entire mix.

I’m a week plus late on this, but obviously the best invention of the entire year is drinkify.org. You punch in what you’re listening to, it gives you the perfect drink pairing. It is, frankly, genius work.

My friend Natalie over at It’s Too Sunny Out Here put together a mix for October that is just fantastic in every way. While there are a lot of artists I’ve posted about on it, there are also a ton of new faces she features that are excellent. I mean that, but my favorite tune is easily that Okkervil River jam- that’s a good one.

One of the bands I’ve most loved discovering this year has been Milo Greene. They recently stopped by NPR and did a Deskless Concert on the rooftop and it’s absolutely amazing. I absolutely cannot wait to hear their debut full length that’s to come out in the spring of 2012.

Since being introduced to his music a few months ago I’ve been absolutely enamored with the smart, clever songwriting of Tyler Lyle. My buddy Jamie over at Sounds for the Soul did an interview with Lyle that only serves to make me more impressed and more intrigued by him and his work.

Canadian songwriter Donovan Woods has been talking about an EP he’s been working on for the last few months and this last week CBC Radio 3 premiered a track from it titled ‘Put On, Cologne.’ I’ve been eagerly awaiting the EP, which is due sometime this winter, and this small taste only heightens that anticipation.

In other album teaser news, Nathaniel Rateliff dropped a small little nugget of a preview of new music he’s working on via Sounds on 29th’s Facebook page. This is another album I absolutely cannot wait to hear.

Hey Marseilles has a new 7″, Elegy, coming out this week and they stopped by a local Seattle tv station King5 to play the title track. It’s a lovely little tune and they are yet another band I can’t wait to hear an upcoming full length from in 2012. Bonus: the beginning of the video seems sort of like one of those SNL parodies of local morning shows.

The Barr Brothers stopped by The Wild Honey Pie to record a Buzzsession for the site. It’s perfect in about every way, honestly. Head on over to check out the videos and grab the free MP3s.

Room 125 Productions has been slowly releasing videos from their stunning session with Drew Grow & the Pastors’ Wives over the last week or so and now all 5 videos are up. Below is the video for ‘It All Comes Right,’ one of my favorite songs from the last few years, which is brilliant and features a fascinating discussion at the end of it about the selling of songs for use in advertising.

I went digging through the Take Away Show archives last night and uncovered this Stars set from earlier this year that is just wonderful and features my favorite song by them, ‘Your Ex Lover Is Dead.’ It’s been too long since I’ve listened to Stars.

After posting that Basia Bulat song yesterday I went through the backlog of sessions from Yours Truly, which is something I’d encourage everyone to do. ‘In the Stream’ by S.Carey is among the most perfect songs for autumn I know. Enjoy.

This entry was posted in Stuff on other sites. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Monday Links

  1. Thanks so much for posting about my session with The Barr Brothers! -Eric, The Wild Honey Pie

Leave a Reply

